Crochet the Easiest Shawl!

Glad your here crochet lovers! As I was shopping for my Christmas gifts and such, I noticed there were a ton of shawls made from all materials and styles. As someone who is not a fashionista in any way shape or form I thought…”HEY guess their in style again..” I know real observant….

I made a few shawls for my craft fair adventures in November and December and they sold out. Complete shock to me because I tend to make what I like and what I have fun making for these things… Trends are not a part of my booth plan.

I want to share with you the easiest shawl I make. You can use your own yarn choices and color schemes of course.

For this shawl I used Carron Cakes. I must say this yarn is perfect for a shawl or even blanket. The color combination and transition are excellent!

Crochets Easiest Shawl:

You will need:

Carron Cake yarn at least 2 balls, or the yarn of your choice.

Crochet hook that works best with your yarn choice.

Scissors always a must

Yarn needle to sew in ends if you need too

Stitches I use are magic ring, DC – double crochet, and chain

Not hard at all…

Start with a magic ring inside the ring crochet 1 DC, chain 1, 3 DC, chain 1, and 1 more DC. total 5 DC. You will have 1 set of 3 DC.


Row 2 Chain 4, turn your work and in the first hole crochet 3 DC, chain 1, and 3 DC in next hole, chain 1, 1 DC. total 2 sets of 3 DC.


Row 3 repeat the chain 4 at each end of the rows adding 1 set of 3 DC at each end.


You will be doing this pattern till you reach the width you want. It’s a big triangle. With the cake yarn 1 ball will make a child size but I do 2 balls for teen and adult size.

After you have the desired width of your shawl you can stop there and weave in ends… but if you want a little splash on your shawl add fringe… you can make them as long or short as you like. For this you just cut the length you want but remember it’s going to be doubled over. I used a huge hook to attach it. Easy huh?  Look at that transition…. FABULOUS!!

img_0129

img_0133


See how easy it is… I even did this shawl while watching TV. Because it takes me a few days to complete this project I only did a sample of the process so I can get this out there for you. I’ll finish it and it will be posted on my Etsy site soon.
Let me know if you like this shawl and if you make one… comment below! And don’t forget to follow me for more easy crochet projects.

Glad your here!

Lisa

 

 

Leave a Reply

